Josephine’s Birth

These are the last pictures taken of me two days before I went into labor, as well as some photos from labor and birth.  It’s hard to believe that 8 pounds 4 ounces Josephine fit in that belly!  I guess she was ready to come out…

Evelyn and I chose a homebirth for the pre- and postnatal care, as well as the hope that we could welcome our child into the world in the calm and comfort of our own home.  We chose Megan Hill and Rebecca Corliss Beck of Birth Care Community Midwives who were and continue to be amazing guides through the process of pregnancy, birth, and new baby.

I started to feel like I might be having contractions on the night of the 25th.  My friend Rachel came over to help me time them, but they were sporadic and unpredictable.  Evelyn came home and it was more of the same.  We called the midwives and they advised to try to get some sleep.  We went to bed at 1:00 a.m. and I woke up at 2:30 and the contractions were a minute long and 2-3 minutes apart.  So much for early labor!  Evelyn called our friend Fern, who was with us for the birth (and took all the photos) and got the downstairs set up, including a birthing tub.  Josephine was born at 9:04 in the morning on a beautiful sunny day that also happened to be my birthday.  It was definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but it was clearly worth it to have this cutest kid in our lives.

Leave a Reply

